running a command line process

For questions and postings not covered by the other forums
ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

running a command line process

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:04 pm

by Shahzad >> Mon, 13 Nov 2006 17:24:42 GMT

So I have the jadrap application running...

And I am executing a command line command

jadclient path=c:\localdev41\system schema=JadeSchema app=JadeBatchExtract endJade File UserSchema.scm UserSchema.ddb c:\UserSchema.unl UserSchema


I am trying to run this as an external command while jade is running.

But of course, the command will not work because the database is in use.

Is there any way I can pull this off? I've tried a million different things, but I'm certainly not an expert on the inner most architecture of the system.

I would simply want the process to be able to connect to the database like any thin client would. But any process or node or whatever I try to start in Jade, it is always a separate process from the command line. doesn't

help?


Shahzad

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: running a command line process

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:04 pm

by Torrie >> Mon, 13 Nov 2006 19:49:25 GMT

Unfortunately the JadClient application cannot connect as a thin client so you will either need to stop the JadApp service when you want to extract schemas or use the JadRap service as well.

We run both JadeRap and JadApp on our server so we can extact schemas. The JadeApp is running in MultiUser Mode connecting to the jadeRap.

When you want to extract the schemas you can run the JadClient in multiUser mode (either include server=MultiUser on the command line or set the Server key in the Jade section of the INI file.)

Torrie

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: running a command line process

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:04 pm

by BeeJay >> Mon, 13 Nov 2006 23:45:42 GMT

Torrie - he already said he has the jadrap running in his post. :)

Shahzad - you have already been pointed to the server=multiUser option that can be added to your command file or your ini file by Torrie. You also need to check that your ServerNodeSpecifications in the [JadeClient] section of the ini file are a match for at least one of your NetworkSpecification entries in the [JadeServer] section of your ini file. Might I also recommend that you add the ini= specification to your command line to guarantee you are using the ini file you think you are using, rather than relying on the internal rules Jade has for defaulting the ini file.

Cheers,
BeeJay.

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: running a command line process

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:04 pm

by Torrie >> Tue, 14 Nov 2006 0:34:14 GMT
Torrie - he already said he has the jadrap running in his post. :)

You're right. For some reason I read JadApp.
Shahzad - you have already been pointed to the server=multiUser option that can be added to your command file or your ini file by Torrie. You also need to check that your ServerNodeSpecifications in the [JadeClient] section of the ini file are a match for at least one of your NetworkSpecification entries in the [JadeServer] section of your ini file. Might I also recommend that you add the ini= specification to your command line to guarantee you are using the ini file you think you are using, rather than relying on the internal rules Jade has for defaulting the ini file.


You can see how the application is trying to connect from the Jommsg<n>.log This is normally located in the Logs directory (next to the bin directory that contains Jade.exe or Jadeclient.exe.) When a multi-user process connects you will see something like

2006/11/14 13:11:51.087 003bc-d38 K2: (jade) Version 6.1.8 - ANSI, OS Version: NT 5.02 build 3790 (Service Pack 1)
2006/11/14 13:11:51.118 003bc-d38 K2: Invocation: "E:\JadeTest\Server\c_bin\jade.exe" path=e:\JadeTest\Server\c_system ini=e:\JadeTest\Server\c_config\JadeTest.ini app=Jade
2006/11/14 13:11:51.087 003bc-d38 JomSrvc: jomSrvcOpenConnection: connecting to database server using ServerNodeSpecifications 'JadeLocal,JadeTest,,,'
The last line show lists the network connection that the process is trying to connect to. In this case it is using the SharedMemory transport.

When trying to start in single user mode, you will see something like the following

2006/11/14 12:36:42.600 00854-770 K2: (jadclient) Version 6.1.8 - ANSI, OS Version: NT 5.02 build 3790 (Service Pack 1)
2006/11/14 12:36:42.600 00854-770 K2: Invocation: E:\JadeTest\Server\c_bin\jadclient.exe path=e:\JadeTest\Server\c_system ini=e:\JadeTest\Server\c_config\JadeTest.ini app=VCare schema=VCareFormSchema server=SingleUser
2006/11/14 12:36:42.600 00854-770 PDB: Database initialising with jomdb version: 6.1.8.36, ini=e:\JadeTest\Server\c_config\JadeTest.ini 2006/11/14 12:36:42.600 00854-770 PDB: System file directory: E:/JadeTest/Server/c_bin/

Note that the last two lines are different from the example above.

In this case the INI file has "server=MultiUser" specified in the Jade section, hence the second example and explicitly listed server=SingleUser on the command line

Torrie


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests