Active X Exposure

Forums for specific tips, techniques and example code
ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Active X Exposure

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:19 pm

by Torrie Moore >> Sun, 26 Sep 1999 10:56:26 GMT

We are wanting to interface to Jade from a Delphi application. I see that you can use Active X Exposure to connect to Jade. Has anyone used this feature yet? If you have, how does it perform and are there any pitfalls in using this method.

Torrie Moore

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Active X Exposure

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:19 pm

by Geoff McIlraith >> Sun, 26 Sep 1999 22:06:09 GMT

I wrote the thing, so I better not comment too much on it.

Just one tip though...

The ActiveX server that is generated, creates a static binding to JADE classes. If the JADE classes change in their definition, then the ActiveX DLL will need regenerating. To allow maximum flexibility in the future, I suggest you create some interface classes in JADE and expose these, rather than the actual core application classes. This allows you to change the classes that are core to your JADE application, without having to regenerate the ActiveX server (so long as the interface class signatures don't change).

Cheers, Geoff.

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Active X Exposure

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:19 pm

by Wilfred Verkley >> Mon, 4 Oct 1999 3:52:00 GMT

We are beginning to use it now.

Some things we have initially discovered:
1. You need MS VC++ 6.0

2. Make sure "\jade50\bin\ is set up in your path
3. You may need to register \jade50\bin\jadax.dll manually using "regsvr32" 4. Make sure you give your exposure and your C++ project different names to what you give all your classes. The JadeX ActiveX exposure wizard is quite fussy about that.
5. When compiling the C++ project, we got a whole errors. Most of them where immediatly solved by telling the type library (the project.idl file) where to find "jadax.dll".

VC++ automatically registers the ActiveX Dll, so its all ready to be used by VB straigh away. Just remember to tick in in your list of references.

As far as we can tell the only object you need to create is your JOM Interface descendent object (named after the name you gave your exposure). Use the createX methods in that class to create instances of other objects in the DB.

i.e. some sample VB code

Dim EPersonBase As PERSONBASETESTLib.EPersonBase
Dim MyApplication As TestCOM
Dim MyPerson As Person
Dim MyRoot As Root

Private Sub Command1_Click()
Set EPersonBase = New PERSONBASETESTLib.EPersonBase
EPersonBase.Initialize "d:\jade50\system", ServerType_Local, "d:\jade50\system\jade.ini"
EPersonBase.SignOn "PersonBase", "PersonBase", "blah", "", AccessMode_Shared, UsageType_Update

Set MyApplication = EPersonBase.Application
Set MyRoot = MyApplication.MyRoot
Set MyPerson = MyRoot.getPerson ("Mr Jones")
End Sub

Private Sub Command2_Click()
EPersonBase.Finalize
Set EPersonBase = Nothing
End Sub


Im not having any luck executing the same code with delphi though.


procedure TForm1.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);
var
personBase : IEPersonBase;begin

personBase := CoEPersonBase.Create;
personBase.initialize ('d:\jade50\system', ServerType_Local, 'd:\jade50\system\jade.ini');
personBase.signOn ('PersonBase', 'PersonBase', 'blah', '', AccessMode_Shared, UsageType_Update);

// blah blah
end;


Calling "signOn" always gives me an access violation in MSVCRT.DLL. Up to that point it seems to work correctly though.

Some examples included in the Jade 5.0 CD (even if only in VB) would have been nice.

I am only beginning to learn this. Someone please comment if you get any further.

Wilfred.

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Active X Exposure

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 2:19 pm

by Craig Shearer >> Mon, 4 Oct 1999 19:46:08 GMT

One more thing to watch out for is that the wizard generates filenames for ...cpp and .h files by using various Class names, and the Exposure name. To avoid difficulties you would be best to make sure that none of your names are the same ie. your Exposure name is different from your schema name and any class names.

Craig.


Return to “Tips and Techniques”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests