Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

For questions and postings not covered by the other forums
Rich Cassell
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK

Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby Rich Cassell » Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:28 pm

Hi,

I am using a test version of our system on a stand-alone PC to work through the upgrade process to JADE 6.2. I have downloaded and installed the ANSI 6.2 Windows installer and i can now successfully open the development environment in the new version. However, i have tried to open the thin client installation on the system and i am receiving an error in CnCntrl saying a library could not be found.

Looking through documentation from our previous upgrade from 6.0 to 6.1 it seems we had to upgrade the CardSchema along with karma.dll etc. Is this still the case? Where would i find the newer versions of these parts of the system?

Also, on a slightly separate note, we have around 120 thin client users spread around the country which will obviously all need upgrading to 6.2 to work alongside the database. What process would this need to go through? Should the clients be upgraded automatically once they initially log on after the server upgrade?

Any information in this matter would be greatly appreciated, as would any other information we may find useful.

Thanks,

Rich Cassell

User avatar
ghosttie
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:25 am
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby ghosttie » Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:03 am

You will need to upgrade CardSchema. You can download it from here.
I have a catapult. Give me all the money or I will fling an enormous rock at your head.

Rich Cassell
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK

Re: Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby Rich Cassell » Tue Aug 25, 2009 3:43 am

Hi Ghosttie,

Thanks for your reply and the link.

I have loaded in the new version of CardSchema and copied in the new karma.dll file and this has solved the initial problem of it crashing with the cnCntrl error. However, it now falls over after complaining about an uncompiled method.

I have ran a status list on CardSchema and found that the method - startSchemaCpOnThinClient() is now returning an error with the following code :

Code: Select all

if app.isUnicode then commandline := path & "/schemacp.exe " & call cnGetCommandLineW(); else commandline := path & "/schemacp.exe " & call cnGetCommandLine(); endif;
The call to cnGetCommandLine() is failing with a "incorrect parameter number" error, as the new version of this method within karma is declared as :

Code: Select all

cnGetCommandLine(value : String [1024] output; maxLength : Integer io) : Integer is cnGetCommandLine in karma;
What must i do to solve this issue? I don't know what to pass as parameters.

Cheers.

Rich

User avatar
ghosttie
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 1:25 am
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Contact:

Re: Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby ghosttie » Tue Aug 25, 2009 3:54 am

It looks like it's changed from returning a string to passing it as an output parameter, so you'll need to do something like this:

Code: Select all

vars sBuffer : String[1024]; iLen : Integer; begin iLen := 1024; call cnGetCommandLine(sBuffer, iLen); end;
I have a catapult. Give me all the money or I will fling an enormous rock at your head.

User avatar
BeeJay
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Christchurch, NZ

Re: Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby BeeJay » Tue Aug 25, 2009 8:48 am

Actually, the 3.3.02 version of CardSchema doesn't have the CnKarmaCntrl::startSchemaCpOnThinClient method defined anymore.

1. Which version of CardSchema did you download for your 6.2.17 system?

2. Did you click the "Yes to all" option at the deleted items prompt when loading the new CardSchema?

3. If you didn't, try reloading the 3.3.02 version of CardSchema and click the "Yes to all" option this time at the deleted items prompt.

Please advise if that corrects the problem you're experiencing.

Regarding your thin client upgrades, assuming you haven't disabled the Jade Smart Thin Client™ automatic upgrade then yes your thin clients should automatically download and install the upgraded files the first time the user connects. Note that you may potentially run into issues with UAC on Vista, or if your users don't have administrative rights on their desktop machines.

Cheers,
BeeJay.

User avatar
Dr Danyo
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 8:59 am

Re: Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby Dr Danyo » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:24 pm

If you are concerned about all 120 clients flooding your network by connecting and downloading at the same time (the morning rush), I would recommend reading Appendix B - Upgrading Software on Presentation Clients (ThinClient.pdf) of the documentation.

There are a number of options such as pre downloading and downloading from a local directory, that could be used to make your upgrade process a lot less painful.

regards,
Dr Danyo.

Rich Cassell
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK

Re: Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby Rich Cassell » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:25 pm

Hi,

Thank you for your responses.

On the off chance, i have reloaded CardSchema and now the status list reports no errors - so as BeeJay suggested, i must have not pressed "Yes to all", which i intended to!

I, however, am still getting the compilation error when running the thin client. The only method i can find in any schema which has an error is the MainForm load method within LincSchema (We are using a Jetted system). The method is:

Code: Select all

load() updating; vars bPos:Integer; commandLine:String; begin app.mdiFrame:=MainForm; app.defaultMdi:=true; commandLine:=call cnGetCommandLine; bPos:=commandLine.pos("switchToDataBegin ",1); if bPos>0 then getSwitchToData(commandLine); endif; end;
As you can see, this method also calls the cnGetCommandLine method which now has 2 parameters. What should i do this time?

Sorry for all of the questions!!


Also, thank you very much for the information regarding the thin client upgrades, it is very useful.

Regards,

Rich Cassell
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 11:22 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire, UK

Re: Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby Rich Cassell » Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:28 pm

Cheers for the extra info regarding the thin client upgrade, i shall check the documentation out!

When upgrading to 6.1 we opted for the pre-download ability as we, at the time, had a slow connection and the network was more spread out around Kilostream lines, modems and VPN's. Now the network is much more organised and strong and we have a fibreline network connection - so we are tempted to just upgrade directly this time.

We are actually a Payroll Bureau so people only ever log on to input for their payroll - so the spread throughout the month is very broad - generally we don't have more than around 40 connections at any one time.


Thanks for the advice though!

Rich

User avatar
BeeJay
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Christchurch, NZ

Re: Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby BeeJay » Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:54 am

You have two options available:

1. Adjust your usage of the CardSchema supplied cnGetCommandLine external function to reflect the new signature for this external function call in the later release of CardSchema.

2. Use the Jade supplied Process::getCommandLine method instead.

Personally I'd go for option 2 and use the native Jade supplied routine in combination with the process keyword to get the command line for the current process as that will be a much easier code change as per the following adjusted version of your code:

Code: Select all

load() updating; vars commandLine : String; begin app.mdiFrame := MainForm; app.defaultMdi := true; commandLine := process.getCommandLine(); if commandLine.pos( "switchToDataBegin", 1 ) > 0 then getSwitchToData( commandLine ); endif; end;

Chris Holmes
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:12 pm
Location: York - United Kingdom

Re: Upgrading to 6.2 from 6.1.07

Postby Chris Holmes » Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:40 pm

Hi Rich,

Just a quick note in regards to the thinclient automatic updates.

As Brian alluded to in update 5 your thinclient users will require admin rights to upgrade.

The reason for this is that JADE 6.2 has been compiled using the Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 SP1 Compiler.
Because JADE 6.2 is compiled against Visual Studio 2005 on Windows, it requires the
Microsoft C++ 2005 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86) called vcredist_x86.exe to be installed.

In my experience (and as is suggested in the InstallConfig.pdf and the ThinClient.pdf) you are best to distribute vcredist_x86.exe to your thinclient users prior to the upgrade. A copy of the installer should be included with your copy of Jade 6.2. Be sure to use this copy of the vcredist_x86.exe installer, as other versions are available on the internet with the same name and these may not contain the correct dll’s.

The installconfig.pdf also has the minimum Software requirements for 6.2 thinclients (see page 16).

Thanks,
Chris.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests