Page 1 of 1

Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:45 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by Stephen >> Wed, 26 Jan 2005 4:00:40 GMT

Could someone do me a huge favour.....

We have a test web service from a partner in Singapore that we are trying to use, but we are continually getting error responses from their server saying "Unable to handle request without a valid soap action". They are convinced the problem is at our end, and I am convinced it is at their end... :-)

The wsdl is at http://uat.businessalert.com.sg/webserv ... .asmx?wsdl and it just has 2 test methods, a hello world and a greeting.

They can get it to work on a Java platform, hence their belief it is a Jade issue. Would someone else mind trying to import this and see if it works for them. I can import fine and call the methods - it just always gives an error response.
I don't have access to any other platform that can import web services either, so have no way of checking if it is a Jade issue, or a problem with their wsdl.

Any assistance anyone could give me would be hugely appreciated!
Thanks
Stephen

Re: Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:45 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by Patwos >> Wed, 26 Jan 2005 7:14:26 GMT

I've tested this for you and I also get the same error from their Web Service. I've done a quick search on Google and found that a number of people have had similar problems and in some cases it has been firewalls removing the Soap Action on the way through. I wonder if they have a firewall installed at their site that is causing this problem when connecting from outside their organisation and the reason their testing works is because internally they are not going through this firewall?

If they have the option to display the raw Soap request from their Web Service Provider, you could get them to send that over and compare it with what is being sent from Jade and see if something has been removed in transit.

The following link was one that covered firewall being the issue: http://www.error-bank.com/microsoft.pub ... hread.aspx

Hope that helps,
Pat.

Re: Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:45 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by Stephen >> Tue, 1 Feb 2005 3:28:33 GMT

Thanks for your help on that. They have checked their firewall, and believe everything to be OK.

I am actually starting to think maybe it is a Jade issue....

They make the point that the following URL works http://uat.businessalert.com.sg/webserv ... est&age=25 and I can put this in my browser and I do get the correct result back. So it is working using the GET protocol (with the parameters in the URL).

By going to the page http://uat.businessalert.com.sg/webserv ... vice1.asmx we are able to test the web service via a web page. If I go to the greetings and put in the parameters, I also get a result back. So it is also working using the POST protocol also.

So it does appear to be working correctly, but as soon as I make any requests via Jades web services classes, I get the errors.

Can I specify within Jade which protocol to use?
Both the GET and POST definitions are in the wsdl file, but how can I specify which one to use at runtime?

Thanks

Re: Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:46 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by bitsnz >> Wed, 2 Feb 2005 20:43:36 GMT

This might not be an issue but i have come across many connection class methods that dont work as they are explained in the help files.

Ive had to code my own to get what i was needing. This could possibly be the same problem in your situation.

Re: Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:46 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by Patwos >> Wed, 2 Feb 2005 21:38:26 GMT

When using the Web Services Consumer in Jade, it automatically takes care of any message transport on your behalf - although if you've any specific examples where the documentation is wrong I'd still suggest reporting this to Jade Support so the documentation gets corrected for future releases and developers respectively.

It would still be interesting to see what their Web Service Provider receives and compare that with what Jade originally sent to confirm nothing has been removed in transit.

Perhaps someone with VS .Net or similar could test this WSDL/ASMX using another tool and confirm whether it works or gets a similar error?!
(I'd try this myself but I don't have any other tools.)

Cheers,
Pat.

Re: Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:46 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by bitsnz >> Wed, 2 Feb 2005 20:44:40 GMT

This might not be an issue but i have come across many connection class methods that dont work as they are explained in the help files.

Ive had to code my own to get what i was needing. This could possibly be the same problem in your situation.

Re: Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:46 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by bitsnz >> Wed, 2 Feb 2005 20:45:15 GMT

This might not be an issue but i have come across many connection class methods that dont work as they are explained in the help files.

Ive had to code my own to get what i was needing. This could possibly be the same problem in your situation.

Re: Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:46 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by John Beaufoy >> Thu, 3 Feb 2005 3:38:51 GMT

Stephen,

Both the test functions worked ok for me using Jade (on a laptop with a modem).

Try upgrading your version? Im using Jade 6.0.21 which is now available.

Cheers,

John Beaufoy
www.nwi.co.nz

Re: Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:46 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by Patwos >> Fri, 4 Feb 2005 1:43:17 GMT

Looks like it has indeed been fixed in 6.0.21 - my prior testing was on 6.0.20.

On the same machine/connection using the same WSDL and JadeScript code the Hello World request processes quite happliy when using the 6.0.21 Jade release.

Hope that helps,
Pat.

Re: Web Services

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:46 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by Jade Support >> Fri, 4 Feb 2005 2:59:30 GMT

Hi Stephen,

We have identified the issue you're encountering is resolved in JADE 6.0.21. You can download the InstallShield from the Jade World web site at the following URL: https://secure.jadeworld.com/bin/jadeht ... 6_requests

Once on 6.0.21 you will need to reload the WSDL into your consumer schema. Following this operation the connection should work successfully.

Regards,
Jade Support.