Page 1 of 1

automation problem in Jade

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:25 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by CarlRanson >> Thu, 11 Sep 2003 5:25:23 GMT

I have an automation question.

In visual basic you could do this:
Set WordApp = GetObject(, "Word.Application")

to connect to a running copy of word as an automation server. This prevents you from having to run up an entirely new copy of word, and can make a BIG difference in performance.

From the msdn VB help:

If PathName is a zero-length string (""), GetObject returns a new object instance of the specified type. If the PathName argument is omitted, GetObject returns a currently active object of the specified type. If no object of the specified type exists, an error occurs.

Anyone got an idea as to how i can achieve the same thing in Jade????
CR

Re: automation problem in Jade

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:25 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by skipton >> Thu, 11 Sep 2003 20:06:04 GMT

Carl,

Dont think this can be done in the existing implementation. You could create the Word ActiveX at startup time and hold a reference to it, toggling the visible property for the times when you actually need to use it?

John