Page 1 of 1

Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by jburnby >> Thu, 26 Sep 2002 2:53:27 GMT

Hi all,


We are trying to set up Jade so we can use calls to Open Office using java bean components.

Does anyone know how I can actually call these components to Jade?


For example the below script works in visual basic:

'The service manager is always the starting point
'If there is no office running then an office is started up
Set objServiceManager= WScript.CreateObject("com.sun.star.ServiceManager") 'Create the Desktop
Set objDesktop= objServiceManager.createInstance("com.sun.star.frame.Desktop")
'Open a new empty writer document
Dim args()
Set objDocument= objDesktop.loadComponentFromURL("private:factory/swriter",_
"_blank", 0, args)
'Create a text object
Set objText= objDocument.getText
'Create a cursor object
Set objCursor= objText.createTextCursor
'Inserting some Text
objText.insertString objCursor, "The first line in the newly created text document."&_
vbLf, false


Thanks,
James.

Re: Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by CarlRanson >> Thu, 26 Sep 2002 3:48:26 GMT

Check in active X automation import...is there an automation library for open office?

to do this go Browse->activeX Libraries...then activeX->import->automation library.

If you can find and import an automation library for this stuff...then it should be pretty easy from there.

Let us know if you get that far.
CR

Re: Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by jburnby >> Thu, 26 Sep 2002 4:25:20 GMT

Hi,

Thanks for your response Carl. Unforunately I have tried this and the module does not show up.

Further to my last message I have managed to track down the exact exe that contains the module information. However all Jade does is run the related application when trying to import it.

Thanks,
James.

Re: Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by allistar >> Thu, 26 Sep 2002 22:58:41 GMT

Could you not compile that VB code into a dll and call that as an external function from within Jade? Or maybe write the equivelant in
C++ or Delphi and do the same.

Allistar.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Allistar Melville
Software Developer
Auckland, NEW ZEALAND

Greentree International,
Developer of Greentree Financial Software. ------------------------------------------------------------------

Re: Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by tim >> Fri, 18 Apr 2008 1:39:13 GMT

how far have you got open office in jade? what i have been trying to do is write a dll in c++ and then use it in jade as external methods but couldn't get the provided examples to work. is there any other way to use open document format in jade as open office uses UNO which is a bitch to get working