Page 1 of 1
Importing Jade ActiveX Exposure
Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:08 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by hml >> Tue, 18 Jun 2002 10:33:03 GMT
Has any one tried importing a Jade ActiveX Exposure? I have created an exposure as detailed in the documentation, but when I try to import it back into Jade I get a null object reference.
I know that the .dll has been created correctly as I am able to use it in VB.
Any ideas would be appreciated!
Thanks
Tim
Re: Importing Jade ActiveX Exposure
Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:08 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by cdshearer >> Tue, 18 Jun 2002 22:55:16 GMT
Hi Tim
I'm not sure whether what you want to achieve is possible (I assume you want to have two JADE systems communicating using COM), but the first step would be to report the Null Object Reference problem to Jade Support for their comment.
Craig
Re: Importing Jade ActiveX Exposure
Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:08 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by wxv >> Tue, 18 Jun 2002 23:39:05 GMT
To my knowledge, A single process or program cannot have more then one simultaneous jade 5 connection (i.e. the jade environment your currently working from plus the the jade database your trying to connect to using ActiveX exposure), so your probably going to have to find some another way of getting the two jade systems to talk.
What ive done in the past is to have a stand-alone program connect one jade database using the activeX exposure objects, and have it expose this interface again to external programs as an out-of-process COM object. A bit of a hack, but its easy to code since its just a simple set of pass-through calls.
Re: Importing Jade ActiveX Exposure
Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:09 pm
by ConvertFromOldNGs
by allistar >> Wed, 19 Jun 2002 4:32:39 GMT
If the activeX control is a DCOM type server with a proxy/stub
(meaning that there is a .dll AND a .exe) then Jade - Jade
communication is indeed possible. We do exactly that here.
We learned the hard way that the Jade activeX exposure stuff is not
for us: Each time you regenerate the exposure it gives the interface a new clsid, which means the old activeX component needs to be
deregistered and the new one registered. We now have our own DCOM database exposure component that we have written in C++ (actually, we have some Jade code that writes the C++ code for us) rather than using the activeX exposure facility in Jade.
Allistar.