Thin Client Freeze

For questions and postings not covered by the other forums
M45HY
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:32 am
Location: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, UK

Thin Client Freeze

Postby M45HY » Thu May 21, 2015 8:57 pm

Hi Guys,

I keep coming across a minor issue and was wondering whether someone could give me some tips.

If you can imagine that there is a Report Form that I wish to debug or trace through. I highlight the part of coding that I would like to inspect and then colon run the Report Form from the Thin Client (which shows on the App Server). As I am tracing through and have discovered something, I then decide to terminate or sometimes even exit debugging. However, the system exits debug mode but locks and/or freezes the Thin Client and the only way I can completely exit the Thin Client is if I restart the App Server. I don’t mind restarting the App Server as long as I am the only person using it but if my colleagues or clients are using it, then the last thing I want to do is request them every time that this happens.

I was wondering whether there is some sort of script that I could write and execute that will kick me off the Thin Client. For example, when I view the monitor, the system identifies my PC name – so JADE must be storing the session somewhere. Is it not possible to run a script to kick me (or a specific user) off the App Server without the need of restarting it? I've tried kicking myself using a script that looks at LoginControl and AtachedUser but this doesn't solve the issue.

Thanks,
Mashy

P.S. Our system was jetted into JADE from Linc and so our reports are created as a subclass of AppLincReportForm – just in case this helps you to understand our system a little.
"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough." - Albert Einstein

User avatar
BeeJay
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:42 pm
Location: Christchurch, NZ

Re: Thin Client Freeze

Postby BeeJay » Fri May 22, 2015 8:40 am

When I want to stop the application from continuing on, after finding an issue during a debug session, I tend to use the Jade User Interrupt to do a 'Break Application'. This will cause a 4035 exception, resulting in the stack being cut back. Depending on the fix that's required, this can then mean I don't even need to restart the app or navigate back to the screen from which I initiated the action when I want to try it again after making the fix.

Failing that, you could try using the 'Force off user' option on the Jade Monitor if your application has gone but isn't going away in monitor. Unfortunately if that fails, then you may be in the situation where you have to bounce the AppServer - although it is worth waiting for long enough for the AppServer reconnect timeout to detect that your thin client has gone and cleanup the process.

Cheers,
BeeJay.


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron