Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

For questions and postings not covered by the other forums
ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm

by jburnby >> Thu, 26 Sep 2002 2:53:27 GMT

Hi all,


We are trying to set up Jade so we can use calls to Open Office using java bean components.

Does anyone know how I can actually call these components to Jade?


For example the below script works in visual basic:

'The service manager is always the starting point
'If there is no office running then an office is started up
Set objServiceManager= WScript.CreateObject("com.sun.star.ServiceManager") 'Create the Desktop
Set objDesktop= objServiceManager.createInstance("com.sun.star.frame.Desktop")
'Open a new empty writer document
Dim args()
Set objDocument= objDesktop.loadComponentFromURL("private:factory/swriter",_
"_blank", 0, args)
'Create a text object
Set objText= objDocument.getText
'Create a cursor object
Set objCursor= objText.createTextCursor
'Inserting some Text
objText.insertString objCursor, "The first line in the newly created text document."&_
vbLf, false


Thanks,
James.

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm

by CarlRanson >> Thu, 26 Sep 2002 3:48:26 GMT

Check in active X automation import...is there an automation library for open office?

to do this go Browse->activeX Libraries...then activeX->import->automation library.

If you can find and import an automation library for this stuff...then it should be pretty easy from there.

Let us know if you get that far.
CR

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm

by jburnby >> Thu, 26 Sep 2002 4:25:20 GMT

Hi,

Thanks for your response Carl. Unforunately I have tried this and the module does not show up.

Further to my last message I have managed to track down the exact exe that contains the module information. However all Jade does is run the related application when trying to import it.

Thanks,
James.

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm

by allistar >> Thu, 26 Sep 2002 22:58:41 GMT

Could you not compile that VB code into a dll and call that as an external function from within Jade? Or maybe write the equivelant in
C++ or Delphi and do the same.

Allistar.

------------------------------------------------------------------
Allistar Melville
Software Developer
Auckland, NEW ZEALAND

Greentree International,
Developer of Greentree Financial Software. ------------------------------------------------------------------

ConvertFromOldNGs
Posts: 5321
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:19 pm

Re: Using JavaBean modules in Jade.

Postby ConvertFromOldNGs » Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:13 pm

by tim >> Fri, 18 Apr 2008 1:39:13 GMT

how far have you got open office in jade? what i have been trying to do is write a dll in c++ and then use it in jade as external methods but couldn't get the provided examples to work. is there any other way to use open document format in jade as open office uses UNO which is a bitch to get working


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests